Skip to main content

Speakers Bureau

Janet Syas Nitsick

Janet Syas Nitsick

Non-Fiction, Inspirational Historical Romance

Full Name:
Janet Syas Nitsick

City of Residence:

Janet Syas Nitsick is the author of Best of Year book, Seasons of the Soul, and five-star, inspiring-historical romance, Lockets and Lanterns, which was released in 2012 and is set in Omaha. Paperbacks and e-books editions are at brick-and-mortar and on-line bookstores. 

“Red looked at his wife while the early morning sun drifted over their bed. ... He took a deep breath, knowing he did not tell his wife about the family secret,” excerpt from Lockets and Lanterns. 

Best-selling author Ruth Ann Nordin and Janet are collaborating on a historical romance, Bride by Arrangement. Two women meet on a train headed for Lincoln, Neb. Janet is writing Opal’s novella. She Came by Train but only her heart will determine if she leaves that way. 

Janet, daughter of late Nebraska State Sen. George Syas, is a former journalist. She writes non-fiction and fiction, including literary and general short stories and romance. 

You can follow Jan Nitsick on Twitter:!/jannitsick; Janet Nitsick on Facebook:; and her writing tip blog:

Published Works: 
Janet Syas Nitsick is the author of Best of Year book, Seasons of the Soul, and inspiring-historical romance, Lockets and Lanterns. Visit Janet's Web site to learn more:

Her short story, “The Silver Lining,” placed 10th in the 79th Writer’s Digest Writing Competition in the mainstream/literary short story category in the fall of 2010. Read story FREE on the Nook or Smashwords.